Meltwater Champions Tour Finals: Praggnanandhaa secures first win; one other loss for Erigaisi | Chess Information – Instances of India

SAN FRANCISCO: Indian Grandmaster R Praggnanandhaa posted his first win whereas compatriot Arjun Erigaisi suffered a 3rd straight defeat within the Meltwater Champions Tour Finals right here on Thursday.
Praggnanandha brushed apart Vietnam’s Liem Quang Le 3-0 within the third spherical at the same time as Erigaisi went down 0.5-2.5 to American Wesley So.
World No.1 Magnus Carlsen of Norway continued his profitable run, crushing Azerbaijan’s Shakhriyar Mamedyarov 3-0 whereas Poland’s Jan-Krzysztof Duda additionally recorded his third straight victory, beating Dutch GM Anish Giri 2.5-0.5.
Praggnanandhaa (4 factors) rose to the fourth spot behind Carlsen, Duda (each on 9 factors) and Giri (4) within the eight-player discipline.
The 17-year outdated Indian gained his first recreation towards So in 41 strikes after which took the second in 46 strikes with black. The third noticed Praggnanandhaa safe a 53-move win to seal a dominant victory.
He’ll play So within the fourth spherical on Friday.
Erigaisi began with a draw towards So however misplaced the following two video games and remained winless and with out factors after the third spherical. He faces Mamedyarov within the fourth spherical.
The eight gamers play a round-robin match. The winner would be the participant who accumulates probably the most factors and money general.
Eight gamers certified for the Finals after a sequence of occasions within the Meltwater Champions Tour. The full prize fund for the Tour finals is USD 210,000. Every win within the round-robin earns the participant USD 7,500.

Leave a Reply

Available for Amazon Prime
Fatal error: Uncaught JSMin_UnterminatedStringException: JSMin: Unterminated String at byte 1164: ' in /home/u395462735/domains/ Stack trace: #0 /home/u395462735/domains/ JSMin->action(1) #1 /home/u395462735/domains/ JSMin->min() #2 /home/u395462735/domains/ JSMin::minify('!(function(f, b...') #3 [internal function]: AO_Minify_HTML->_removeScriptCB(Array) #4 /home/u395462735/domains/ preg_replace_callback('/(\\s*)(<script\\...', Array, '<!doctype html>...') #5 /home/u395462735/domains/ in /home/u395462735/domains/ on line 214